System Simulation

“Dynamic system simulation” comprises transient models of complex technical and physical systems (fuel cell systems, domestic heating systems, combined heat power systems, etc.) for numerical analysis.

Systems which have to be newly developed and already existing systems can be modelled based on mathematical equations. A complex dynamic system consists of several individual subsystems which are modelled singly and assembled to define the entire physical process. System simulation proves itself to be an important tool, e.g., to evaluate different system configurations or to increase the system efficiency.

Furthermore, the models of technical systems are used to emulate non-existing system components. This allows developing control systems parameter earlier in the design-phase. The dynamic system models are also developed for identifying the system and determining control system parameters during the control development with “Hardware/Software in the Loop” methods.

The numerical simulation group focuses on the field of over-all system analysis. Depending upon the type of problem, a technical/economical evaluation is made. With the help of detailed transient simulation models, the system potential can be determined at real environmental conditions (e.g. simulation of energy demand load profiles for household applications). An economic analysis completes the evaluation process of the considered technology.

Systemsimulation

Der Teilbereich „dynamische Systemsimulation“ umfasst die dynamische Modellierung und Berechnung komplexer technischer und physikalischer Systeme (z.B. Brennstoffzellensysteme, Hausheizungssysteme, Industrieprozesse).

Durch die mathematische Modellierung können sowohl neu zu entwickelnde als auch vorhandene Systeme analysiert werden. Bei der Modellierung wird das Gesamtsystem zunächst in Teilkomponenten zerlegt und das physikalische Verhalten jeder Teilkomponente in einem eigenen Modell beschrieben. Die Systemsimulation erweist sich als wichtiges Werkzeug z.B. zur Bewertung von Systemvarianten oder zur Steigerung der Systemeffizienz.

Modelle technischer Systeme werden auch verwendet, um nicht vorhandene Systemteile zu emulieren und somit bereits in der Designphase Entwürfe für Regelungssysteme zu ermöglichen. Weiterhin werden dynamische Modelle bei sogenannten „Hardware/Software in the Loop“ Verfahren bei der Steuerungsentwicklung für die Systemidentifikation und die Bestimmung von Regelungsparametern entwickelt.

Die Berechnungsgruppe verfolgt dabei eine ganzheitliche Systembetrachtung. Je nach Fragestellung erfolgt auch eine technisch / wirtschaftliche Technologiebewertung. Mit Hilfe von detaillierten transienten Simulationsmodellen können Potentiale unter Berücksichtigung realer Umgebungsbedingungen (z.B. Lastprofile für den Energiebedarf in Wohnhäusern) bestimmt werden. Eine Wirtschaftlichkeitsbetrachtung schließt die Bewertungskette der betrachteten Technologie.