Research and Development

Our core competence:

Test procedures for future fuels

OWI develops hardware-in-the-loop test benches for testing the interaction of fuels with components in the fuel supply line for automotive or combustion appliances. Photo: OWI

Renewable liquid fuels make an indispensable contribution to a secure and economical energy supply in the mobility and heat sectors. In the near future, their contribution to climate protection will increase significantly. Therefore, intensive research is being conducted into the production of renewable liquid fuels which have a high impact on the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions.

OWI’s application-oriented research investigates how liquid fuels interact with components in the fuel supply line under realistic operating conditions. This ensures that developers do not experience any surprises during market launches. Whoever enters the market with a new fuel, component or system needs maximum operational reliability even during field or fleet test.

“Fit for Purpose” test procedure for high operational reliability and service life time

Classical testing looks at either fuels or components, but it neglects the complex interplay of fuels and technologies/systems, whose compatibility is straightforward. That is why OWI develops application-oriented “Fit for Purpose” test procedures that simulate real-life operating conditions in the laboratory. This includes:

  • Investigation of cause-effect relationships of fuels interacting with technical components;
  • Development of methods, test procedures and test benches for fuels and technical components (identification of deposit formation, material wear, etc.);
  • Combustion and long-term storage tests.

OWI develops application-oriented “Fit for Purpose” test procedures that simulate real-life operating conditions in the laboratory. (Graphics: OWI)

This results in valid statements about the actual behavior of fuels, additives, components and entire systems under application-related conditions which, for example, disclose fuel and material-related risks. The findings from the application of the test methods provide an important basis for product development decisions.

Forschung und Entwicklung

Unsere Kernkompetenz:

Testverfahren für zukünftige Brenn- und Kraftstoffe

OWI entwickelt Hardware-in-the-Loop-Prüfstände für Tests der Wechselwirkungen von Brenn- und Kraftstoffen mit Komponenten . Foto: OWI

Flüssige Brenn- und Kraftstoffe leisten einen unverzichtbaren Beitrag zu einer sicheren und wirtschaftlichen Energieversorgung in den Sektoren Mobilität und Wärme. Zukünftig soll ihr Beitrag zum Klimaschutz deutlich steigen. Daher wird intensiv an der Herstellung treibhausgasreduzierter flüssiger Brenn- und Kraftstoffe geforscht.

Die anwendungsnahe Forschung des OWI untersucht, wie sich flüssige Brenn- und Kraftstoffe im Zusammenspiel mit technischen Komponenten unter realitätsnahen Einsatzbedingungen verhalten. Damit wird sichergestellt, dass Entwickler keine Überraschungen bei Markteinführungen erleben. Wer mit einem neuen Fuel, einem Bauteil oder System in einen Feld- bzw. Flottentest oder gar in den Markt geht, braucht maximale Betriebssicherheit.

„Fit for Purpose“-Testverfahren für hohe Betriebssicherheit und Lebensdauer

Das klassische Testing betrachtet einerseits die Fuels und andererseits die Bauteile, aber es vernachlässigt das komplexe Wechselspiel von Fuels und Technologien. Darum entwickelt OWI anwendungsnahe sogenannte „Fit for Purpose“-Testverfahren, die im Labor reale Einsatzbedingungen nachbilden. Das umfasst:

  • Erforschung von Ursache-Wirkung-Zusammenhängen bei der Interaktion von Kraftstoffen und technischen Komponenten
  • Entwicklung von Methoden, Testverfahren und Prüfständen für Fuels und technische Komponenten (Identifikation von Ablagerungen, Materialverschleiß, etc.)
  • Verbrennungsversuche und Langzeitlagerungsversuche

OWI entwickelt anwendungsnahe „Fit for Purpose“-Testverfahren, die im Labor reale Einsatzbedingungen nachbilden. (Grafik: OWI)

Daraus ergeben sich valide Aussagen über das tatsächliche Verhalten von Kraftstoffen, Additiven, Bauteilen und gesamter Systeme unter anwendungsnahen Bedingungen, die beispielsweise fuel- und materialbedingte Risiken offenlegen. Die Erkenntnisse aus der Anwendung der Prüfmethoden bieten wichtige Entscheidungsgrundlagen für die Produktentwicklung.