About OWI

The OWI Oel-Waerme-Institut gGmbH is an independent and non-profit research institution. OWI researches and develops concepts and technologies in the areas of energy-efficient use of liquid conventional and alternative fuels as well as innovative technologies in cooperation with partners from the industry and research. Subjects of research and development are the areas of production process, substance properties, application and storage, conceptual development as well as technology assessment and transfer. The aim is to develop sohisticated low-carbon and low-emission solutions for tomorrow´s heat generation and mobility.

OWI is a provider of research services and sees itself as a mediator between fundamental research and application. Its employees do not only work on projects which are financed from public funds but also on industrial research agreements. Clients range from manufacturers of domestic heating systems to companies of the automotive supply industry, the petroleum industry and the industrial furnace design to several other industries.

A decription of the research and development priorities at OWI you find here.

The research activities are supported by major companies and organisations that are active in the fields of equipment and component manufacturing, the petroleum industry and analysis laboratories. The 30 sponsoring members come from fiveEuropean countries and the USA.

A scientific advisory board advises the institute in scientific and technical issues. Since 2007, OWI has been an “Affiliated Institute of RWTH Aachen University”. The rectorate of RWTH Aachen University acknowledges external institutions to be a facility of the university, if they fulfil scientific tasks for which the university itself has no capacity and if their research and development projects serve to transfer technologies into the industry. OWI still keeps its legal and economic autonomy as a non-profit gGmbH.

Our cooperation partners

OWI is a subsidiary of TEC4FUELS GmbH and the Institut für Wärme und Oeltechnik and works together with them on sustainable solutions for the energy transition.

Institut für Wärme und Oeltechnik e.V.

The Institute for Heat and Oil Technology e. V. (IWO) is an institution of the German mineral oil industry. The IWO is financed by companies in the mineral oil industry and the external and wholesale mineral oil trade. Well-known manufacturers of heaters and components as well as other institutions and associations accompany the work of IWO as supporting members.

The distribution of efficient and low-emission heating technology in the interest of climate protection and resource conservation – with this goal IWO is active in the heating market. We are committed to ensuring that the advantages of heating oil as an energy source can be used in the heating market in the long term and support research activities for the further development of liquid energy sources, among other things with grants to the OWI.

More on www.zukunftsheizen.de

TEC4FUELS GmbH

TEC4FUELS GmbH is a technical service provider active in research and development of technical products, systems and energy sources and their application in the energy market for fuels and lubricants. This also includes testing the usability and performance in practice. In addition, related advisory and other services are offered.

More on www.tec4fuels.com

Über OWI

Das OWI ist eine unabhängige und gemeinnützige Forschungseinrichtung. In Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung forscht und entwickelt das OWI Konzepte und Technologien auf den Gebieten der energieeffizienten Nutzung flüssiger konventioneller und alternativer Brenn- und Kraftstoffe sowie innovativer Effizienztechnologien. Gegenstand der Forschung und Entwicklung sind die Bereiche Herstellungsverfahren, Stoffeigenschaften, Anwendung und Speicherung, Konzeptentwicklung sowie Technologiebewertung und -transfer. Das Ziel sind technisch ausgereifte, treibhausgas- und emissionsarme Lösungen für die Wärmeerzeugung und Mobilität von Morgen.

OWI ist Forschungsdienstleister und versteht sich als Mittler zwischen Grundlagenforschung und Anwendung. Im Rahmen des Technologietransfers bearbeitet das OWI sowohl aus öffentlichen Fördermitteln finanzierte Projekte als auch industrielle Forschungsaufträge. Zu den Kunden gehören Hersteller von Haushaltsheizungen, Unternehmen der Automobilzulieferindustrie, der Mineralölwirtschaft und der Thermoprozesstechnik.

Hier finden Sie eine Beschreibung der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkte am OWI.

Die Forschungsaktivitäten werden von namhaften Unternehmen und Verbänden unterstützt, die in den Branchen Geräte- und Komponentenherstellung, der Mineralölwirtschaft und als Analyse-Labore aktiv sind. Diese rund 30 Fördermitglieder des OWI kommen aus fünf europäischen Ländern.

Ein wissenschaftlicher Beirat  berät das Institut in wissenschaftlichen und technischen Fragen. Seit 2007 ist das OWI ein „An-Institut der RWTH Aachen“. Das Rektorat der RWTH Aachen erkennt damit externe Institutionen als Einrichtungen an der Hochschule an, wenn sie wissenschaftliche Aufgaben erfüllen, für die die Hochschule selbst keine Kapazitäten hat, und sofern ihre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte dem Technologietransfer in die Industrie dienen. OWI wahrt dabei aber seine rechtliche und wirtschaftliche Selbständigkeit als gemeinnützige gGmbH.

Unsere Kooperationspartner

Das OWI ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der TEC4FUELS GmbH und des Instituts für Wärme und Oeltechnik (IWO) und arbeitet gemeinsam mit ihnen an zukunftsfähigen Lösungen für die Energiewende.

Institut für Wärme und Oeltechnik e.V.

Das Institut für Wärme und Oeltechnik e. V. (IWO) ist eine Einrichtung der deutschen Mineralölwirtschaft. Finanziert wird das IWO durch Unternehmen der Mineralölindustrie und des Mineralölaußen- und -Großhandels. Namhafte Hersteller von Heizgeräten und Komponenten sowie weitere Institutionen und Verbände begleiten die Arbeit von IWO als Fördermitglieder.

Die Verbreitung effizienter und emissionsarmer Heiztechnik im Interesse des Klimaschutzes und der Ressourcenschonung – mit diesem Ziel ist IWO im Wärmemarkt tätig. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass die Vorteile des Energieträgers Heizöl langfristig im Wärmemarkt genutzt werden können und unterstützen die Forschungsaktivitäten zur Weiterentwicklung flüssiger Energieträger unter anderem mit Zuwendungen an das OWI.

Mehr auf www.zukunftsheizen.de

TEC4FUELS GmbH

Die TEC4FUELS GmbH ist ein technischer Dienstleister, der in der Forschung und Entwicklung zu technischen Produkten, Systemen und Energieträgern und deren Anwendung im Energiemarkt für Brenn-, Kraft-, Treib- und Schmierstoffe aktiv ist. Hierzu gehört auch das Testing der Einsatzfähigkeit und Performance in der Praxis. Darüber hinaus werden damit verbundene Beratungs- und sonstige Dienstleistungen angeboten.

Mehr auf www.tec4fuels.com