Structural Mechanics

At OWI, the focus is on the application of numerical structural analysis (CSM – Computational Structural Mechanics) for components with high thermal load. The thermal load on the material depends on the thermal boundary conditions of the fluid flow, such as the heat release due to chemical reactions. In case of technical components, the short-term mechanical load which is caused by heating and cooling processes is particularly important.

CSM-simulation. (Photo: OWI)

High-temperature gradients will lead to high tensions, especially in the case of thin-walled components, which can cause deformations and damages. In micro process engineering the magnitude of thermally caused deformations are in the range of characteristic component dimensions (e.g. channel width). One application area is the field of the micro fuel cells where the tightness of fuel cells can be guaranteed, e.g. those that have been developed in the publicly funded project MIMEMIZ at OWI. The cell is constructed from various individual micro channels. The thermal deformation of components under operating conditions was determined by means of a stress analysis (see above).

CSM-simulation. (Photo: OWI)

In high-temperature technology, damage mechanisms of components occur because of the extreme thermal material load. In long-term observation creep process and high-temperature corrosion decide the load condition and are thus important for the durability analysis. A typical example is the deflection of radiant tubes in industrial furnaces. Similar problems are investigated with numerical methods within the scope of the project HT-LifePLUS et al., which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology.

Strukturmechanik

OWI beschäftigt sich mit der Anwendung der numerischen Strukturanalyse (CSM – Computational Structural Mechanics) thermisch hoch belasteter Bauteile. Die thermische Belastung des Materials resultiert in den betrachteten Fällen aus den thermischen Randbedingungen der Strömung, etwa der Wärmefreisetzung durch chemische Reaktionen. In technischen Bauteilen ist insbesondere die kurzzeitige mechanische Belastung, wie sie durch Aufheiz- und Abkühlvorgänge hervorgerufen wird, von Bedeutung.

CSM-Simulation. Foto: OWI

Hohe Temperaturgradienten führen insbesondere bei dünnwandigen Bauteilen zu hohen Spannungen, welche zu Verformungen und Schädigungen führen. In der Mikroverfahrenstechnik liegen die Längenskalen der thermisch bedingten Verformungen in der Größenordnung charakteristischer Bauteilabmessung (z.B. Kanalweite). Ein Anwendungsbereich ist die Gewährleistung der Dichtigkeit von Mikrobrennstoffzellen, wie sie im öffentlich geförderten Projekt MIMEMIZ am OWI entwickelt wurden. Die Zelle ist aus verschiedenen Einzelplatten aufgebaut. Die thermische Verformung der Komponenten unter Betriebsbedingungen wurde mit Hilfe einer Spannungsanalyse ermittelt (Siehe Bild oben).

CSM-Simulation. Foto: OWI

In der Hochtemperaturverfahrenstechnik kommt es aufgrund der extremen thermischen Materialbelastung  zu besonderen Schädigungsmechanismen von Bauteilen. In der Langzeitbetrachtung entscheiden Kriechvorgänge und Hochtemperaturkorrosion über den Belastungszustand und sind somit für die Lebensdaueranalyse von entscheidender Bedeutung. Ein typisches Beispiel ist die Durchbiegung von Strahlheizrohren in Industrieöfen. Entsprechende Fragestellungen werden derzeit in dem vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) geförderten Projekt HT-LifePLUS u. a. mit numerischen  Methoden untersucht.