AiF expert meeting at OWI

OWI advocates technology-open research

AiF´s expert group 2 was OWI´s guest. Photo: OWI

27 May 2019 – On 14 May 2019, at the invitation of the OWI Oel-Waerme-Institut gGmbH, a meeting of expert group 2 of the German Federation of Industrial Research Associations (AIF) took place in Herzogenrath. AiF and its member associations guarantee a qualified evaluation of projects of the Industrial Collective Research (Industrielle Gemeinschaftsforschung und -entwicklung -IGF). The pre-competitive IGF is organised in the innovation network of AiF and its 100 research associations and supported by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) with public funds.

AiF´s expert group 2 deals with applications in the field of process engineering and energy technology. The experts meet regularly for confidential and impartial evaluation of submitted research proposals and discuss their eligibility for funding.

As the host of the last meeting, OWI Managing Director, Elmar Pohl, briefly introduced the Oel-Waerme-Institut to the 24 participating experts. With the “Future Fuels Research Cluster”, Elmar Pohl explained a current focus of research at OWI. OWI has combined projects in the cluster in which greenhouse gas-reduced fuels and combustibles as well as innovative application technologies for mobility and domestic heating are developed. These include, for example, the development of new low-CO2 petrol and diesel fuels as well as fuel oils and efficient propulsion and heating technologies. Elmar Pohl appealed for technology-open research that would achieve the best ecological, economic and social solutions for meeting the targets of the Paris climate protection agreement and those of the German government.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

AiF Gutachtersitzung am OWI

OWI plädiert für technologieoffene Forschung

Die Gutachtergruppe 2 der AiF zu Gast am OWI. Foto: OWI

27. Mai 2019 – Am 14. Mai 2019 fand auf Einladung der OWI Oel-Waerme-Institut gGmbH in Herzogenrath eine Sitzung der Gutachtergruppe 2 (GAG) der Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen „Otto von Guericke“ e.V. (AiF) statt. Die AiF und ihre Mitgliedsvereinigungen gewährleisten eine qualifizierte Evaluation von Projekten der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF).Die vorwettbewerbliche IGF wird im Innovationsnetzwerk der AiF und ihrer 100 Forschungsvereinigungen organisiert und vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) mit öffentlichen Mitteln gefördert.

Die GAG 2 der AiF beschäftigt sich mit Anträgen zum Themenschwerpunkt Verfahrenstechnik und Energietechnik. Dazu treffen sich die Gutachter regelmäßig zur vertraulichen, unparteiischen Bewertung von eingereichten Forschungsanträgen und beraten über deren Förderwürdigkeit.

Als Gastgeber der letzten Sitzung stellte OWI-Geschäftsführer Elmar Pohl den 24 teilnehmenden Gutachtern das Oel-Waerme-Institut kurz vor. Mit dem „Forschungscluster Future Fuels“ erläuterte Elmar Pohl einen aktuellen Schwerpunkt der Forschung am OWI. In dem Cluster hat das OWI Projekte zusammengefasst, in denen treibhausgasreduzierte Brenn- und Kraftstoffe sowie innovative Anwendungstechnologien für die Bereiche Mobilität und Raumwärme entwickelt werden. Darin geht es beispielsweise um die Entwicklung neuer CO2-armer Benzin- und Dieselkraftstoffe sowie Heizöle und effizienter Antriebs- und Heiztechnologien. Elmar Pohl plädierte für eine technologieoffene Forschung, mit der die ökologisch, ökonomisch und gesellschaftlich besten Lösungen zur Erfüllung der Pariser Klimaschutzziele und denen der Bundesregierung erreicht werden.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.