Screening test method for lubricating greases

Ensuring lifetime lubrication of rolling bearings

In an endurance run test grease is mechanical-dynamically loaded in roller bearings under lab terms to win data for the development of a screening test method. Photo: Kompetenzzentrum Tribologie

24 June 2019 – An important step on the way to elucidating the causes of a reduction in the lubricity of lubricating greases in rolling bearings has been taken by the Competence Centre Tribology Mannheim and the Oel-Waerme-Institut in a joint research project. Thermogravimetric analysis (TGA) was used to identify a test method that can be used for the development of lubricating greases. The TGA made it possible to differentiate quickly and cost-effectively between the greases used depending on the load and the load time. In combination with the experience gained from the numerous rolling bearing tests on the multi-station rolling bearing test bench, the simple TGA test can be used to make statements about the behaviour of the greases in the bearing.

The development of lubricating greases is a technically and time-consuming process. Typically, several iterative development cycles with repeated stability tests are necessary, which increase the costs with each cycle. The innovative evaluation methodology based on the TGA could become interesting for small and medium-sized companies in grease development in the future, but could also be used by analysis laboratories and service providers.

Rolling bearings are used universally throughout mechanical engineering and are indispensable for modern drive technologies. The prediction of the grease operating life in grease-lubricated rolling bearings is of great importance for manufacturers because it often depends on the grease operating life if “relubrication” is not possible or planned. This is associated with a high cost risk, because the failure of a rolling bearing could lead to the total loss of a complete technical system.

The investigations of lubricating greases within the research project led to the new insight that thermal oxidation does not seem to be mainly responsible for the degradation of lubricating greases, but that the degradation of thickeners in the lubricating grease could play an important role. As the grease ages, the thickener’s ability to bind the oil contained in the grease initially diminishes prematurely. Due to the oil loss in the grease, the rolling bearing loses its lubrication with the consequence of a functional failure and possible system malfunctions. These relationships will be further investigated in a follow-up project.

The results of the research project have been published in DGMK Research Report 788.

The IGF project 18615 N of the research association German Society for Petroleum and Coal Science and Technology e.V. – DGMK, Überseering 40, 22297 Hamburg is funded through the AiF as part of the program for promoting joint industrial research (IGF) by the german federal ministry of economics and energy based on a German Federal Parliament resolution.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Screening-Prüfmethode für Schmierfette

Lebenslange Schmierung von Wälzlagern sichern

In einem Dauerlauftest wird Schmierfett in Wälzlagern unter Laborbedingungen mechanisch-dynamisch belastet, um Daten für die Entwicklung einer Screening-Prüfmethode zu gewinnen. Foto: Kompetenzzentrum Tribologie

24. Juni 2019 – Einen wichtigen Schritt auf dem Weg zur Aufklärung der Ursachen eines Abbaus der Schmierfähigkeit von Schmierfetten in Wälzlagern sind das Kompetenzzentrum Tribologie Mannheim und das Oel-Waerme-Institut in einem gemeinsamen Forschungsvorhaben vorangekommen. Mit der thermogravimetrischen Analyse (TGA) wurde ein Prüfverfahren aufgezeigt, das für die Schmierfettentwicklung genutzt werden kann. Die TGA ermöglichte eine kostengünstige und schnelle Unterscheidung der eingesetzten Schmierfette in Abhängigkeit von der Beanspruchung und der Beanspruchungszeit. In Kombination mit den Erfahrungen aus den zahlreichen Wälzlagerprüfungen auf dem Mehrplatzwälzlagerprüfstand können anhand des einfachen TGA-Tests bereits Aussagen über das Verhalten der Fette im Lager getroffen werden.

Die Entwicklung von Schmierfetten ist ein technisch und zeitlich aufwändiger Prozess. Typischerweise sind mehrere iterative Entwicklungszyklen mit wiederholten Stabilitätsuntersuchungen notwendig, die die Kosten mit jedem Zyklus erhöhen. Die innovative Bewertungsmethodik auf Basis der TGA könnte künftig für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen in der Schmierfettentwicklung interessant werden, aber auch von Analyselaboren und Dienstleistern genutzt werden.

Wälzlager werden im gesamten Maschinenbau universell eingesetzt und sind für moderne Antriebstechnologien unverzichtbar. Die Vorhersage der Fettgebrauchsdauer in fettgeschmierten Wälzlagern ist für die Hersteller von großer Bedeutung, weil sie oftmals von der Schmierfettgebrauchsdauer abhängt, wenn ein „Nachschmieren“ nicht möglich oder vorgesehen ist. Damit ist ein hohes Kostenrisiko verbunden, denn der Ausfall eines Wälzlagers könnte zum Totalschaden einer kompletten technischen Anlage führen.

Die Untersuchungen der Schmierfette innerhalb des Forschungsprojekts führte zu der neuen Erkenntnis, dass nicht die thermische Oxidation hauptsächlich für die Degradation von Schmierfetten zu sein scheint, sondern der Abbau von Verdickern im Schmierfett eine wichtige Rolle spielen könnte. Bei der Alterung schwindet zunächst vorzeitig die Fähigkeit der Verdicker zur Bindung des im Fett enthaltenen Öls. Durch den Ölverlust im Fett verliert das Wälzlager seine Schmierung mit der Folge eines Funktionsausfalls und möglichen Anlagenstörungen. Diese Zusammenhänge sollen in einem Folgeprojekt weiter untersucht werden.

Die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts sind im DGMK-Forschungsbericht 788 veröffentlicht worden.

Das IGF-Vorhaben 18615 N der Forschungsvereinigung Deutsche Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft für Erdöl, Erdgas und Kohle e.V. – DGMK, Überseering 40, 22297 Hamburg wurde über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung und -entwicklung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.