OWI researches climate-neutral mobility and domestic heating

Scientific Advisory Board provides important impetus

OWI's laboratories are researching synthetic fuels and combustibles, among other things. (Photo: OWI)

OWI’s laboratories are researching synthetic fuels and combustibles, among other things. (Photo: OWI)

7 May 2019 – How the climate targets can be achieved is being investigated in various research projects based on ecological, economic and social criteria. One possible approach is the sustainable production and use of synthetic fuels. The gradual substitution of petroleum-based fuels could make the emissions from internal combustion engines climate-neutral and significantly less polluting in the long term. In cooperation with partners from academia, research and industry, the Oel-Waerme-Institut’s focus today is on such technically sophisticated, low-emission and low-greenhouse gas solutions for tomorrow’s mobility and heat generation. The aim is to make liquid fuels based on fossil and renewable energies exceedingly efficient and safe to use.

The institute’s scientific advisory board is an important driving force for this strategic orientation of OWI. It advises the OWI management board on scientific issues and provides recommendations on the research strategy and priorities. The advisory board members contribute with their know-how and experience to meetings and workshops and thus support in defining the research fields and the scientific orientation at OWI. Moreover, the scientific advisory board is also a platform where scientists, industry, institutions and associations meet to exchange ideas. The advisory board also regularly discusses which networks and communication channels can be used to initiate research activities and how their results can be communicated both to industry and to small and medium-sized enterprises within the framework of technology transfer.

Prof. Dr. Herbert Pfeifer, who heads the Department for Industrial Furnaces and Heat Engineering at RWTH Aachen University, heads the scientific advisory board of OWI and is thus the central link between the research institute and the university. The 16 members of the advisory board come from universities, associations, institutions and industry. They bring in different perspectives i. a. technical applications in the areas of mobility and domestic heating as well as greenhouse gas and low-emission fuels of the future.

Here you will find an overview of the members of the scientific advisory board at OWI.

 

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

OWI forscht an klimaneutraler Mobilität und Raumwärme

Wissenschaflicher Beirat gibt wichtige Impulse

In den Laboren des OWI wird unter anderem an synthetischen Brenn- und Kraftstoffen geforscht. Foto: OWI

7. Mai 2019 – Wie die Klimaziele erreicht werden können, wird in Forschungsprojekten unter ökologischen, ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Kriterien untersucht. Ein möglicher Weg ist die nachhaltige Herstellung und Verwendung von synthetischen Kraftstoffen. Durch die auch schrittweise mögliche Substitution erdölstämmiger Kraftstoffe, könnten die Emissionen von Verbrennungsmotoren perspektivisch klimaneutral und deutlich schadstoffärmer werden. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Forschung und Industrie liegt der Fokus des Oel-Waerme-Instituts heute auf solchen technisch ausgereiften sowie emissions- und treibhausgasarmen Lösungen für die Mobilität und Wärmeerzeugung von Morgen. Ziel ist es, flüssige Brenn- und Kraftstoffe auf Basis fossiler sowie erneuerbarer Energien besonders effizient und sicher nutzbar zu machen.

Ein wichtiger Impulsgeber für diese strategische Ausrichtung des OWI ist der wissenschaftliche Beirat des Forschungsinstituts. Er berät die Geschäftsführung des OWI in wissenschaftlichen Fragen und spricht Empfehlungen zur Ausrichtung der Forschungsaktivitäten aus. Die Beiratsmitglieder bringen ihr Know-how und Erfahrungen in Sitzungen und Workshops ein und unterstützen damit die Strukturierung von Forschungsfeldern und die wissenschaftliche Ausrichtung des OWI. Darüber hinaus ist der wissenschaftliche Beirat auch eine Plattform, auf der sich Wissenschaftler, Industrie, Institutionen und Verbände zu einem Gedankenaustausch treffen. Regelmäßig diskutiert wird im Beirat auch die Frage, welche Netzwerke und Kommunikationskanäle zur Initiierung von Forschungsaktivitäten genutzt werden können und wie deren Ergebnisse im Rahmen des Technologietransfers sowohl in die Industrie als auch an kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen vermittelt werden können.

Prof. Dr. Herbert Pfeifer, der an der RWTH Aachen University dem Institut für Industrieofenbau und Wärmetechnik vorsteht, leitet den wissenschaftlichen Beirat des OWI und ist damit die zentrale Verbindung des Forschungsinstituts zur Hochschule. Die insgesamt 16 Beiratsmitglieder stammen aus Universitäten, Verbänden, Institutionen und der Industrie. Sie beschäftigen sich aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven unter anderem mit technischen Anwendungen in den Bereichen Mobilität und Raumwärme sowie treibhausgas- und emissionsarmen Kraftstoffen der Zukunft.

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht der Mitglieder des wissenschaftlichen Beirats am OWI.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.