OWI confirmed as an affiliated institute of RWTH Aachen University

Excellent scientific work

Hardware-in-the-loop test rig for testing the interaction of regenerative fuels with technical components. Photo: OWI

13 May 2019 – The OWI Oel-Waerme-Institut gGmbH was again confirmed as an “affiliated institute of the RWTH Aachen”. The Rectorate of RWTH Aachen University approves external institutions as affiliated institutions if they perform excellent scientific work, complement the research portfolio of the university with research and development projects that serve to transfer technology to the industry. OWI researches and develops concepts and technologies in the fields of energy-efficient use of conventional and alternative liquid fuels as well as innovative efficiency technologies. The aim is to develop technically mature, low greenhouse gas and low-emission solutions for the heat generation and mobility of tomorrow.  

A current focus of research at OWI is on fuels with the highest possible CO2 reduction potential and their compatibility with modern combustion and engine technologies. For example, the use of fuels from waste and residues of biogenic origin is being investigated. OWI is also investigating synthetic fuels produced from a renewable carbon source with the help of electricity from renewable sources for their applications in engines, heating systems, fuel cells and thermo-processing plants. An important feature of the research work is the development and implementation of test procedures that can accelerate the interaction of fuels and technical components in the course of operation under realistic operating conditions. After a relatively short time, the stability of fuels as well as the service life and operational safety of technical components and overall systems can be assessed.

As an “affiliated institute”, the OWI is also actively involved in the academic activities at the RWTH. Numerous students of the RWTH and other universities have completed their Bachelor, Master and Diploma theses as well as doctoral dissertations while working under the expert supervision of institute staff on OWI research projects. OWI is one of 15 affiliated institutes currently of the RWTH Aachen, which with more than 500 employees make an important contribution to the technological development at the research location Aachen. The approval of affiliated institutes by RWTH Aachen University is valid for 5 years in accordance with the statutes. A catalogue of criteria is used to determine whether the affiliated institutes meet the requirements for recognition.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

OWI als An-Institut der RWTH Aachen bestätigt

Exzellente wissenschaftliche Arbeit

Hardware-in-the-Loop-Prüfstand für Tests der Wechselwirkungen regenerativer Brenn- und Kraftstoffe mit technischen Komponenten. Foto: OWI

13. Mai 2019 – Die OWI Oel-Waerme-Institut gGmbH wurde erneut als „An-Institut der RWTH Aachen“ bestätigt. Das Rektorat der RWTH Aachen University erkennt damit externe Institutionen als Einrichtung an, wenn diese wissenschaftlich exzellente Arbeit leisten, das Forschungsportfolio der Hochschule ergänzen und ihre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte dem Technologietransfer in die Industrie dienen. Das OWI forscht und entwickelt Konzepte und Technologien auf den Gebieten der energieeffizienten Nutzung flüssiger konventioneller und alternativer Brenn- und Kraftstoffe sowie innovativer Effizienztechnologien. Das Ziel sind technisch ausgereifte, treibhausgas- und emissionsarme Lösungen für die Wärmeerzeugung und Mobilität von Morgen.

Ein aktueller Schwerpunkt der Forschung am OWI sind Brenn- und Kraftstoffe mit einem möglichst hohen CO2-Minderungspotenzial und ihre Kompatibilität mit modernen Verbrennungs- und Motorentechnologien. Beispielsweise wird der Einsatz von Kraftstoffen aus Abfällen und Reststoffen biogener Herkunft untersucht. Auch synthetische Kraftstoffe, die aus einer erneuerbaren Kohlenstoffquelle und mit Hilfe von Strom aus regenerativen Quellen hergestellt werden, untersucht das OWI auf ihre Einsatzmöglichkeiten etwa in Motoren, Heizsystemen, Brennstoffzellen und Thermoprozessanlagen. Ein wichtiges Merkmal der Forschungsarbeit ist die Entwicklung und Durchführung von Testverfahren, die unter realitätsnahen Einsatzbedingungen die Interaktion von Kraftstoffen und technischen Bauteilen im Laufe des Betriebs beschleunigt darstellen können. Damit lassen sich nach relativ kurzer Zeit sowohl die Stabilität von Kraftstoffen als auch die Lebensdauer und Betriebssicherheit technischer Komponenten und Gesamtsysteme beurteilen.

Als „An-Institut“ ist das OWI auch aktiv in die Lehre an der RWTH eingebunden. Zahlreiche Studien-, Bachelor-, Master- und Diplomarbeiten sowie Dissertationen sind durch Studenten der RWTH und anderer Hochschulen im Zusammenhang mit Forschungsarbeiten des OWI unter fachkundiger Betreuung von Institutsmitarbeitern angefertigt worden. Das OWI ist eines von derzeit 15 An-Instituten der RWTH Aachen, die mit über 500 Beschäftigten einen wichtigen Beitrag zur technologischen Entwicklung am Forschungsstandort Aachen leisten. Die Anerkennung von An-Instituten durch die RWTH Aachen gilt satzungsgemäß jeweils für 5 Jahre. Anhand eines Kriterienkatalogs wird turnusmäßig überprüft, ob die An-Institute die Voraussetzungen für die Anerkennung erfüllen.

Pressemeldung zum Download
OWI als An-Institut der RWTH Aachen bestätigt – Exzellente wissenschaftliche Arbeit

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.