Increasing operational safety of auxiliary heaters

Doctorate at OWI

For the tests to produce deposits on porous media evaporators, fuel mixtures were stored for several months at 8°C and 40°C to simulate ageing. Photo: OWI

27 June 2018 – M.Sc. Winfried Koch successfully defended his dissertation at RWTH Aachen University in April 2018. His work deals with the influence of the thermal stability of liquid fuels and combustibles on the formation and degradation of residues in porous media evaporators. It was written at the OWI Oel-Waerme-Institut as part of the research project “Influence of evaporation behaviour on the coking tendency of liquid fuels on wetted surfaces”.

The evaporation of liquid fuels and combustibles in porous media evaporators enables an alternative combustion technology. This technology is state-of-the-art for engine-independent stationary and auxiliary heaters in vehicles and can also be used for heating buildings. With these evaporation concepts, a comparatively high thermal load of the fuels and combustibles occurs in their liquid phase during evaporation. The reason for this is the high temperatures of the components wetted with the fuel. This can lead to the formation and accumulation of residues during the evaporation of long-term stored and thus aged liquid fuels and combustibles. The formation of such residues can lead to malfunctions.

With the help of the idealized basic test bench for porous media evaporation developed in the work, an assessment was made of the surface temperature of the fleece evaporator and the running time of the system at which residue-free evaporation of liquid fuels and combustibles is possible. Furthermore, the temperature was investigated at which regeneration by combustion of formed residues after evaporation is possible.

The findings of the idealised basic investigations on the build-up and decomposition of residues during the evaporation of liquid fuels or combustibles in isothermal energy (temporal or spatial constancy of temperature) must be tested in subsequent work in combustion engineering investigations using application-specific test cycles, whereby the flame serves as heat source.

The dissertation Winfried Koch – Influence of the thermal stability of liquid fuels and combustibles on the composition and degradation of residues in nonwoven evaporators (ISBN: 978-3-8440-5966-3) can be obtained as a print and e-book edition under the mentioned link.

 

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Betriebssicherheit von Stand- und Zuheizern erhöhen

Promotion am OWI

Für die Versuche zur Erzeugung von Ablagerungen an Vliesverdampfern wurden Brennstoffmischungen zur Nachstellung der Alterung über mehrere Monate bei 8°C und 40°C eingelagert. Foto: OWI

27. Juni 2018 – M.Sc. Winfried Koch hat im April 2018 seine Dissertation an der RWTH Aachen erfolgreich verteidigt. Seine Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit dem Einfluss der thermischen Stabilität von flüssigen Brenn- und Kraftstoffen auf den Aufbau und Abbau von Rückständen in Vliesverdampfern. Sie wurde am OWI Oel-Waerme-Institut im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes „Einfluss des Verdunstungsverhaltens auf die Verkokungsneigung von flüssigen Brennstoffen auf benetzten Oberflächen“ geschrieben.

Die Verdampfung von flüssigen Brenn- und Kraftstoffen in porösen metallischen Vliesverdampfern ermöglicht eine alternative Verbrennungstechnologie. Diese Technologie ist für motorunabhängige Stand- und Zuheizgeräte in Fahrzeugen Stand der Technik und kann auch zur Gebäudebeheizung genutzt werden. Bei diesen Verdampfungskonzepten tritt eine vergleichsweise hohe thermische Belastung der Brenn- und Kraftstoffe in ihrer flüssigen Phase bei der Verdampfung auf. Grund dafür sind die hohen Temperaturen der mit dem Brenn- oder Kraftstoff benetzten Bauteile. Dies kann dazu führen, dass es bei der Verdampfung von langzeitgelagerten und dadurch gealterten flüssigen Brenn- und Kraftstoffen zur Bildung und Akkumulation von Rückständen kommt. Die Bildung solcher Rückstände kann zu Betriebsstörungen führen.

Mit Hilfe des in der Arbeit entwickelten idealisierten Grundlagenprüfstands zur Vliesverdampfung erfolgte eine Beurteilung, bei welcher Oberflächentemperatur der Vliesverdampfer und über welche Laufzeit des Systems eine rückstandsfreie Verdampfung von flüssigen Brenn- und Kraftstoffen möglich ist. Es wurde weiterhin untersucht, bei welcher Temperatur eine Regeneration durch Verbrennung von gebildeten Rückständen nach der Verdampfung möglich ist.

Die Erkenntnisse der idealisierten Grundlagenuntersuchungen zum Auf- und Abbau von Rückständen bei der Verdampfung flüssiger Brenn- oder Kraftstoffe bei Isothermie (zeitliche oder eine räumliche Konstanz der Temperatur), müssen in nachfolgenden Arbeiten in verbrennungstechnischen Untersuchungen mittels anwendungsspezifischer Testzyklen überprüft werden, wobei die Flamme als Wärmequelle dient.

Die Dissertationsschrift Winfried Koch – Einfluss der thermischen Stabilität von flüssigen Brenn- und Kraftstoffen auf den Aufbau und Abbau von Rückständen in Vliesverdampfern (ISBN: 978-3-8440-5966-3) kann beim Verlag unter dem genannten Link als Print- und E-Book-Ausgabe bezogen werden.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.